
{ for the last two years now, i've canned salsa- it is an enormous endeavor due to the amount of salsa that my husband can consume. so, this year i opted to forgo the salsa and do peaches instead. the idea of trying to keep track of all the boiling pots on the stove, chop the millions of vegetables, and keep my little boy from licking an outlet seemed a little too daunting for me right now :)despite the shear madness of canning there is something so meditative about it. i don't know what it is? the step by step process, the moving things around at just the right time, trying to keep it all balanced- or just the complete loss of self in the craziness of the task? whatever it is, i love it! the first time was a challenge, because i didn't know what i was doing. but the last two times i've canned, an indescribable sense of calm has come over me as i hover over the stove or pull the skins off my fruits. it's a sweet feeling that i'd love to channel into my everyday life. perhaps that's why i love organizing so much. there's a parallel of order there- steps to follow to get to a desired goal- surrender of the ego- process.
hip hip for order!
my biggest challenge with canning is storing all of the equipment after. where do i keep all the jars once the salsa has been chowed or the peaches gulped. where do i put the HUGE pots? how do you deal with all the canning clutter? i'd love to hear your suggestions.
No comments:
Post a Comment