Monday, September 14, 2009

millions of peaches


{ for the last two years now, i've canned salsa- it is an enormous endeavor due to the amount of salsa that my husband can consume. so, this year i opted to forgo the salsa and do peaches instead. the idea of trying to keep track of all the boiling pots on the stove, chop the millions of vegetables, and keep my little boy from licking an outlet seemed a little too daunting for me right now :)

despite the shear madness of canning there is something so meditative about it. i don't know what it is? the step by step process, the moving things around at just the right time, trying to keep it all balanced- or just the complete loss of self in the craziness of the task? whatever it is, i love it! the first time was a challenge, because i didn't know what i was doing. but the last two times i've canned, an indescribable sense of calm has come over me as i hover over the stove or pull the skins off my fruits. it's a sweet feeling that i'd love to channel into my everyday life. perhaps that's why i love organizing so much. there's a parallel of order there- steps to follow to get to a desired goal- surrender of the ego- process.

hip hip for order!

my biggest challenge with canning is storing all of the equipment after. where do i keep all the jars once the salsa has been chowed or the peaches gulped. where do i put the HUGE pots? how do you deal with all the canning clutter? i'd love to hear your suggestions.

Sunday, September 6, 2009

back?

{ i'm back to posting on this blog {i hope} it's been a crazy year and a half. being pregnant and now having a 6 month old. i'm still not in the swing of things, but trying everyday. i must lack some gene- the gene that this lady has 'soule mama' or this one 'tara whitney' or every other mother in the world.

but here i am again- i have to do SOMETHING! and i love the idea of this blog and a community centered around one of my passions- organizing. so here i go- i plan on trying to post at least once-a-week. wish me luck.

ok. disclaimer done. check.

something that i've been playing with now that i'm a mom and due to the afore mentioned lack of gene is glue. glue is a handy dandy alternative when you don't have time to fire up the sewing machine {i.e. during your kids nap that you pray lasts an hour and a half, but more than likely will be 45 minutes} i was given 'mighty mendit' {i apologize for the infomercial} by my father-in-law and i'm loving it! it dries fast and holds well. so instead of sewing, i've been gluing up these little wallets in my spare moments. hopefully someday i'll have time to run the sewing machine around them, but until then, the glue is getting the job done quick and is going to stick. tee hee. so for all of those moms out there that are struggling to organize some time for sewing/crafting, take a short cut and use some glue. also, i just used a beat-up pair of pants for my fabric- i'll rarely throw out material that can be reused in some way.